How to Deal with the Grieving Process

Saturday, June 15, 2019
While many of us recognize that we are grieving, we may not be familiar with the stages of grief or how to deal with them. Grieving is a deeply individual process, and can be handled in a number of different ways.

Once we experience the loss, sometimes it's difficult to be aware of the different stages of grief, especially during the initial shock. Many people arenít really dealing with the emotions of grief at first, they are handling the details of funerals and the estate, etc. of the one who has passed. Only later do they make the time to sort through their feelings.

The Stages of Grief
Elizabeth Kubler-Ross spent most of her career as a psychologist working with and studying patients facing terminal illness. She outlines five stages of grief that can be recognized in negative life changes and loss, such as a break-up or the death of a loved one. Here is a quick outline of the five stages:

Denial. "This canít be happening."

Anger. Who is to blame? Why is this happening?

Bargaining. "If you make this not happen, I will do ________."
Depression. "I canít do anything. I'm too sad."

Acceptance. You've made peace with what happened.

These are natural reactions and common for anyone who has suffered a significant loss. However, it's not required to go through each stage in order to heal. They are also not something you will experience in a neat, sequential order.

How to Handle the Grieving Process:
While we are going through the grieving process, it can be exhausting, scary, lonely or confusing. The important thing to know is that youíre not alone, and there are several ways to help cope with the pain, pick up the pieces and move on with your life.

1. Acknowledge your pain. Facing your grief and pain is one of the most powerful things you can do for yourself to heal.

2. Accept that your grief can spark unexpected emotions at unexpected times. It's ok to take time and deal with them.

3. Know that your grieving process will be unique to you. Everyone is different, and how they handle loss or grief is different as well.

4. Look for face-to-face support from people who care about you.

5. Take care of yourself physically. It will help take care of you emotionally.

6. Learn to recognize the difference between grief and depression.

The best way to work through the grieving process is to recognize the feelings and reactions that are triggering your grief, and give yourself the time and space to work through them and heal.

Back to Blogs Page